Different Types of Healthcare

Different Types of Healthcare

In medicine, levels of care refer to the complexity of the medical cases doctors treat and the skills and specialties of the providers. Levels are divided into the following categories:

  • Primary care
  • Secondary care
  • Tertiary care
  • Quaternary care

As a patient, you might sometimes hear these terms. So knowing their definitions can help you better understand what your doctor is talking about and help you recognize the level of care you’re receiving.

Primary Care: Essentials

Most people are very familiar with primary care. This office is your first stop for most of your symptoms and medical concerns. You might seek primary care for the following:

  • Illness: You may see your primary care doctor when you notice a new symptom or when you come down with a cold, the flu, or some other infection.
  • Injury: You may also seek primary care for a broken bone, a sore muscle, a skin rash, or any other acute medical problem.
  • Referral: Also, primary care is typically responsible for coordinating your care among specialists and other levels of care, such as with radiology scans (MRIs, CT scans, X-rays, and more)

In addition, you’ll probably see a primary care provider (PCP) for regular screenings, general checkups, and wellness visits.

Primary care providers may be:

  • Doctors
  • Nurse practitioners
  • Physician assistants

There are some primary care specialties as well. For instance, OB-GYNs, geriatricians, and pediatricians are all primary care doctors. But they also happen to specialize in caring for a particular group of people.

Studies have shown that primary care providers benefit the healthcare system by:

  • Enhancing access to healthcare services
  • Providing better health outcomes
  • Decreasing hospitalization and use of emergency department visits

Secondary Care: Specialists

Secondary care is when your primary care provider refers you to a specialist as well as radiology specialists. Secondary care means your doctor has transferred your care to someone who has more specific expertise in whatever health issue you are experiencing.

Specialists focus either on a specific system of the body or a particular disease or condition. Examples of specialists include:

  • Cardiologists focus on the heart and blood vessels.
  • Endocrinologists focus on hormone systems, including diseases like diabetes and thyroid disease.
  • Oncologists specialize in treating cancers, and many focus on a specific type of cancer.

Tertiary Care and Hospitalization

If you are hospitalized and require a higher level of specialty care, your doctor may refer you to tertiary care. Tertiary care requires highly specialized equipment and expertise.

At this level, you will find procedures such as:

  • Coronary artery bypass surgery
  • Dialysis
  • Plastic surgeries
  • Neurosurgeries
  • Severe burn treatments
  • Complex treatments or procedures

A small, local hospital may not be able to provide these services. So, if you require more advanced care, they may need to transfer you to a medical center that provides highly specialized tertiary level services. 

When you are in tertiary care for certain chronic conditions such as diabetes and chronic kidney disease, your PCP must remain involved. That’s because your PCP can help you establish and maintain a management plan for the long term.

Quaternary Care

Quaternary care is considered an extension of tertiary care. However, it is even more specialized and highly unusual.

Because it is so specific, not every hospital or medical center offers quaternary care. Some may only provide quaternary care for particular medical conditions or systems of the body.

The types of quaternary care include:

  • Experimental medicine and procedures
  • Uncommon and specialized surgeries

To book an MRI, visit us at Medmo.com. Medmo helps people schedule radiology imaging tests – such as MRI, CT scans, PET, and more – at nearby accredited centers and identify the payment solution that works best for them.


Most recent posts

What Is Cystic Fibrosis?

Medical screenings, like a chest x-ray or CT scan, can help doctors diagnose and monitor cystic fibrosis. Early diagnosis and treatment are critical for improving quality of life and lengthening the expected lifespan.
Read more

How to Read an Imaging Scan Prescription

Your imaging prescription will tell you the scan type your referring physician has prescribed and the time and location of your imaging scan. The last two are very important for you to know in order to make or reschedule your appointment. If your doctor has not assigned you to an imaging center, or if you would like to adjust the details of your scan, such as the time and location you would like to be seen at, please visit us at Medmo.com to schedule an appointment.
Read more

Lung Cancer Screening Guidelines + FAQ

The only recommended screening test for lung cancer is low-dose computed tomography (also called a low-dose CT scan. Screening with low-dose CT has been shown to reduce lung cancer mortality by 20–33% in high-risk populations which could save an additional 10 000–20 000 lives each year.
Read more